Nokia N900 – Not only for geeks but for mass as well


“Be it early impressions once it arrived to me, be it my first detailed article mentioning it as definitely geek, be it my article revolving around MaStory or be my criticism about it, I guess most of the time, I sounded like Nokia N900 has everything Geek about it. Is it really so?”


Size comparisonWhy Nokia N900 going to appeal regular mass more than other phones (not just Geeks)?

Let me be honest about it, after loosing my Nokia 5800, being aware of Non-Repairable condition of my Nokia N82, giving my simple yet effectively main Nokia 5310 XpressMusic to home and last few days with trial device Nokia N900, my quest is set between Nokia N900, Nokia N97 and Nokia 5800 XpressMusic and my choice is again Nokia 5800 XpressMusic for the same reasons, I stated earlier.

But I tell you, I am resisting urge of buying Nokia N900 just somehow and the reasons for going Nokia 5800 XpressMusic will be solely because of amazing price tag and inclusion of all the features I require (you cant get this much with that price anywhere else, just Rs. 13,200/-), otherwise Nokia N900 has a lot to market it for mass. Let me discuss a few here.


  1. Powerful like a dream: Insanely powerful ARM Cortex A8 600 MHz, more than enough 256 MBpower RAM, separate PowerVR SGX graphics (can run games like never before and run HD Videos like a charm), 3.5 inches screen with unbelievable resolution of 800×480 (I literally enjoying watching movies all the way in train and web experience, you just can’t match), gigantic internal storage of 32 Gb and still place of MicroSD Card slot to accommodate a max of 16 Gb more (can you believe?). Have you heard of something like this?

  2. Loaded Multimedia device: With XpressMusic series, Nokia seems to be all out for war to take onmultimedia_site music market. Such a powerful device and a full 24 Hrs 30 Minutes Music Play just matches the specifications so well. A perfect fitting 5 MP camera (2576×1936) equipped with Video recordings capability, dual LED Flash, video light, Geo-tagging and not to be forgotten cover over lens. A revamped interface for music player, possibility of playing all available formats videos due to availability of various open source codec and mplayer etc (I am playing all my movie collection that is divx, xvid or wmv and that too with normal srt’s subtitles. Isn’t a VLC player, you always looking for you smart phone?). Top of all, you even have a FM Transmitter means you could stream music from your cell to other devices.

  3. Amazingly sound UI: While the resistive touch screen performs much better than anyone’snokia_n900_ui_2 expectations and widgets enabled desktop can fit into anyone’s requirements, but the show stopper is superb multi tasking of the device. I don’t think that anyone might be thinking to define some “Out of memory” error for this device due to 256 MB of RAM and 700 MB+ Application memory in addition. With such an enormous power, one could really think about so many possibilities.  

  4. Connections that any smart-phone is all about: 2G (GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900), 3G (HSDPA, 10Mbps; HSUPA, 2Mbps), class 32 GPRS/ EDGE, Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g DLNA, Bluetooth v2.1 with A2DP, Infrared, microUSB v2.0 and A-GPS; look like Nokia decided not to say NO for anything. I guess only remained was a normal USB port or normal LAN Port.. just kidding.

  5. Integration of Gtalk/ Skype and unification of SMS/ IMs: Generations changing and skype technologies adopting the same. Our smart-phones have became as integrated to our lives as social networks and IMs on internet. Integration of Skype and Gtalk opens just another dimension. Provided extremely fast Internet Connections, you never gonna needing headfone for calling from your Laptop, when Gtalk and Skype already there for you. Conversation view of SMS/ IMs might seem a new thing to many, but its gonna be a rule in near future.

  6. Open nature of the device and OS: Are you still thinking about possibilities with Android or openness_sky_sea iPhone OS? Do you still think it would ever gonna take that long to fix some app? Gone those days, with a truly open source OS, you could really expect fast updates and quicker fixes like nothing before. Many a times, you wont be needed to wait for official apps even. Moreover, existing large pool of debian applications is already there that could be ported to your Nokia N900 with some serious efforts. Limit is only where your imagination might took some time to reach.

Its such a capable device that every techie around the globe knows that its still much below its own potential. Still Ovi Support Pending, still Google Apps waiting to join the party, still  some here and there improvements for UI could be thought, but do you think that anything could challenge this device in its capability/ possibilities and openness?

I am still waiting for inclusion of Google Apps, release of this device to India and some amazing price tag like best ever Nokia 5800 has, but even then this device stands as best dream of anyone out there.

Update: Just came across a much detailed article about it

 

25 thoughts on “Nokia N900 – Not only for geeks but for mass as well

  1. Reading ur review, my thirst for trying N900 is at its peak. I am afraid thinking whether I will lose my interest on my current soulmate(Nokia 5800). I have juz replied to @WOMWorldNokia mail for trying the Nokia N900. Hope they will accept my request

  2. Only the price tag makes us reconsider the device. Nokia has this recent issue of lowering price after launch. So i expect the device to be launched in India for around 35k and then to be available for around 27k later on. Lets wait..and may be we will see similar superior Android devices roll out too 🙂

  3. Juwal Bose,

    Yes!! the same here, Price tag. I had the device for trial on two weeks.

    But trust me, except limited Nokia Maps Application and Google absence of Google Maps (both could be filled very soon), I really dying to get one again.

    With this, gone those day,
    when I was to convert any movie and then save in my cell
    when mobile web was for quick look and desktop one was for detailed
    when I was to wait for desktop to write a post
    and list goes on…

    I have read about all of those devices, iPhone, Android and all.. but trust me having a Linux (almost) in your hand, means you dont have a phone, but have a small netbook, which could call. 32GB memory, 600 Mhz Processor and Graphics etc worth the price for sure. Question is only.. our needs are lesser than it and its more insane to be a mobile.

    But in my view, its the best device on planet

  4. What i don’t realize is if truth be told how you are now not really much
    more smartly-liked than you may be now. You’re so intelligent.
    You know thus significantly in terms of this matter, made me in my view
    consider it from so many numerous angles. Its like women and men aren’t involved unless it is something to do with Girl gaga!
    Your own stuffs excellent. At all times handle it up!

  5. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to mention that
    I have really enjoyed surfing around your weblog posts. In any
    case I’ll be subscribing on your rss feed and
    I’m hoping you write again soon!

  6. There are numerous modern light fittings that may help you to set virtually
    any mood, whether you would like bright lights to read by or dimmed lights for TV
    and dinner time. They are best for contemporary homes,
    rooms, and offices that value modern, international style and supple, full-grain leather.
    In antique shops, this kind of furniture is easily available.

  7. A typical online business card includes the giver’s name, company affiliation and contact
    information such as street addresses, telephone number(s), e-mail addresses and website.
    So, you can search for free cloud file storage
    or the option of paying for the same. Therefore, this means you don’t need to carry actual storage space equipment anywhere
    you go.

  8. This file sharing system is perfect for team projects involving music or video editing, computer and system repairs, or
    for anything which needs collaboration among its members. So, you can search for free cloud file storage or the option of paying for the same.
    The first 2GB are free with 50 MB of maximum file size.

  9. According to apple’s complaint shows, samsung let apple angry of the very fundamental reasons due to its
    top-selling among smartphone and computer tablet series “derivative” copied
    the i – Phone and that i – Pad design, specially in appearance.
    This could be your ISP blocking websites because of the local
    laws of your respective country. This framework will are powered by i
    – Pad, i – Phone, Android as well as on TVs and connected objects.

  10. With plastering, the white finish gives your pool a blue color
    along with a clean look. For concrete and fiberglass pools, you simply must dig two inches deeper and wider to accommodate the
    pad which is used to line the pool. A wonderful place that you
    simply can enjoy throughout year delays in your case and your family.

  11. Stick by your team through thick and thin, despite the wins and
    losses. ‘The teams, the broadcast contract and our showcase games this year are going to generate tremendous excitement about
    this League and the great seasons to come. In a very short time he built a very,
    very thorough roster that can beat you in a number of ways.

  12. Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out much.

    I hope to give something back and help others like you helped me.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.