Kalkaji Temple and punctured tyre


I Googled with the same phrase and came up with nothing like I was searching for, so I am not sure that anyone else got the same experience like mine or may be, if someone got such an experience, didn’t noticed that much or posted somewhere. Here, I take the initiative, call it conspiracy theory or whatever that’s what I felt.

I wasn’t ready to go there at the first place due to rush in now days thanks to Navratri, but it was insisting of my friend, who almost bullied me for taking a visit to Kalkaji Mandir.


First about the visit itself

The visit was directed by Ovi Maps alone this time (No Google Maps like was in the last trip). I used my Nokia BH-212 Bluetooth headset hidden under helmet connected with Nokia N97 Mini for voice navigation of route. I paid once for not hearing the instructions and following my instincts and was to take a complete circle for coming at the same turn, where I ignored the directions by Ovi Navigation. One glitch I faced was a place, where it said that I have to take turn to right, while there was no right turn, but for rest of the part, it was excellent.


Now, the part I started to write about. Troubles due to “Special traffic arrangement of Delhi police inside the temple” a side, when I was coming out of parking lot (newly made for temporary reasons), then one reminded me that my bike got a puncture in back tyre. frustrated me wasn’t having enough option than walking on the road with bike to find if some auto mobile shop around.

Just after a few meters, in front of Punjab National Bank (Okhala Branch I guess), I find a boy sitting on bike on footpath with a signboard of Auto Mobile shop and few tires hanging upside. Stops me and ask about the puncture and offers to repair. Obviously, I was having no option but to stop. My friend with me taken it as blessing to get someone so near, while I was thinking that where he gone, why he was sitting there, when shop is so inside? How he will fill air in tube, where there is no machine around? Told my friend about my suspicion.

He comes after a few long mins, not less than 10 mins I guess without water tub to check and here my suspicion begins. He seems to be so ‘expert’ that first inspected the tyre from eyes to find any keels if there and found at exactly against where the valve was (only spot, you can be so certain about finding easily). He finds a keel there, removes that and then opens wheel for pulling the tube out.

Interestingly, no testing by water or by filling air into tube, he inspects the tube by his eyes in two three rounds of tube and finally declares that Sir!! the tube is gone, can’t be repaired. My conspiracy theory got a whole cycle completed, obviously, no profit in such a ploy, if you are getting only 20 bucks as puncture repairs. I looked at my friend with expression “thats what I was talking about” and asked him about the amount required for new tyres. He made it professional by saying that Sir, I don’t have tyre of this size, have to look from somewhere (Great!!! are bikes come in different sizes? Pulsor 150cc is like covering more than half of market). I thought whom are you fooling? Asked him to find. He said Rs. 180/- Do I had some option?

He repaired and took money from me meanwhile two other people stopped there; one with broken break wires & one with some other complaint. I left the place wondering if it was all ploy.


Thought to post, if someone else might have faced something like this at the same place, which I doubt that many are having regularly. All of this arrangement seemed suspicious in first sight.

2 thoughts on “Kalkaji Temple and punctured tyre

  1. Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative.
    I am going to watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future.
    Lots of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.